Current Speaker Deputy Speaker Sindh Assembly

Sindh Assembly: Current Speaker & Deputy Speaker

Awais Qadir Shah, the nominee of the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), has been chosen to serve as the 12th Speaker of the Sindh Assembly. 147 members of the provincial assembly participated in the assembly speaker poll.

Following the voting procedure, the results were declared by outgoing speaker Agha Siraj Durrani. Awais Qadir of the PPP won with 111 votes, while Advocate Sofia Shah of the MQM received 36 votes.

In contrast, Jamat-e-Islami (JI) and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) abstained from the Sindh Assembly’s election of speakers and deputy speakers.

Agha Siraaj Durani, the outgoing speaker of the Sindh Assembly, also gave newly elected speaker Awais Qadir Shah the oath of office.

In the assembly session, outgoing speaker Agha Siraj Durrani said that Shah had received 111 votes in the speaker’s race, while his opponent, Sofia Saeed Shah of the Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) party, had received 36 votes.

In the election for deputy speaker, Rashid Khan of the MQM-P received 36 votes, while Naveed of the PPP received 111. After declaring the election results, Shah witnessed Naveed take the oath of office as deputy speaker.

Speaker Agha Siraj Durrani conducted the oath-taking of newly elected members of the Sindh Assembly earlier. With 114 seats, the PPP is the largest parliamentary group in the legislature.

Share this:

Leave a Comment