Current Speaker Deputy Speaker of the Punjab Assembly

Punjab Assembly: Current Speaker & Deputy Speaker

With 193 members, the PML-N now holds the majority in the province parliament. The Sunni Ittehad Council is the second-largest party, with 98 members. The Punjab Assembly also includes five members of the Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party (IPP), ten members of the Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q), thirteen members of the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), and one representative from each of Tehreek-e-Labbaik and Pakistan Muslim League-Ziaul Haq.

Being the largest elected house in the nation, the Punjab Assembly has 371 seats, divided into 297 regular seats and 74 reserved seats (66 for women and 8 for minorities).

42 reserved seats for women and 5 reserved seats for minorities have been notified by the ECP thus far.

Elections for 296 general seats were held on February 8; however, one seat’s polling was postponed owing to the untimely death of a candidate.

With a commanding 224 votes out of a total of 327, Malik Ahmed Khan of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) was elected as the speaker of the Punjab Assembly (PA) on Saturday. Malik Zaheer Iqbal Chunner was elected deputy speaker with 220 out of 323 votes.

With 96 votes, Ahmed Khan Bhacher of the Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC), which consists of elected independent candidates supported by the PTI, took second place, demonstrating the competitive electoral environment in the parliament.

Share this:

Leave a Comment